top of page

Gender Tag


There are so many genders out there, people know of a few, but there is the bottom line, male, female, and everything in between. There are also other genders. Personally, I do not know all of them, but I do fit into the “other” category.

For my personal identification I identify as genderfluid (aka gender queer). Gender fluidity is when you do not identify as any specific gender. You are not simply male or female, you are neither, and yet you are both. Being genderfluid is usually said to be when a person feels like a male one day, and a female another. But being genderfluid is a combination of not wanting to identify, and also feeling like you have no specific gender. Genderless.

Pronouns used for people who are genderfluid have a pretty wide variety. The most commonly used pronouns are they, their, and they’re, as well as it, and it’s. Some people even identify with their name only or the *name*. When it comes down to using pronouns if you slip up it’s not a big deal, just correct yourself and maybe apologize. We understand and it happens. Just respect their proper pronouns and do this for every gender.

As far as coming out goes, people usually have a hard time understanding what you are saying. Gender fluidity is one of the more complicated genders to understand. When I first came out it was to my closest friends at the time, they didn’t understand and it took a lot of talking through and explaining. The second group of people I came out to my facebook friends. I came out just under a year ago through a facebook post. I got lots of support from friends and a little bit of hate from others; but when it came down to it I had admitted to almost the entire world that I wasn’t the person I was born as. It was hard to explain and I tried to be as specific as I could in the post but there were still lots of questions. The most common ones were “What do I call you?” and “How do you know?”. The answers to those aren’t as simple as they would seem. For the first one you can call me by name or by they pronouns. I didn’t know what to say at the time and ended up being called it, which made me feel different, kinda like I wasn’t human. But for some people it is what they like to be called as said earlier. That doesn’t make them any less human. For the second question that one was hard to explain in a way everyone would understand. Personally I never felt like I really had a distinct gender, I felt almost like I wasn’t meant to have a gender. Maybe I just gave one but it wasn’t right. My birth gender was not who I was, just how I was born.

Being gender fluid is probably accepted to a certain level but also looked down on. The biggest flaw of being gender fluid is people forgetting you are not a certain gender and calling you by various genders. Be careful of the words you use when it comes down to people’s identification. It’s more important than it would seem.

Who's Behind The Blog
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

© 2023 by "This Just In". Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page