top of page

Picking on Pockets




Those of you who are acquainted with me know I can go on long rants about random topics sometimes. In sticking with this month’s theme of LGBTQ and gender equality, I’ve brought one of my favorites to the table: pocket sizes. Yes, you read me right, I’m dedicating this article to the segregation that is the size of pockets.

Those of you out there finding yourselves wearing women’s pants may find that your pockets are often much smaller than the ones found on men’s pants. I have very strong feelings against this. As an active female myself, I find it restraining to carry around a purse with me all of the time. I’d much rather be running around with my friends and not be weighed down by a bag that most often doesn’t even sit comfortably on my shoulder. Preferring not to use a purse leaves me with very few options because I can’t fit my phone or other belongings in the pockets of my pants (no, I can’t even fit my tiny phone in my back pocket). And here lies the main problem.

I can’t leave my phone behind. I’m sure the reason a lot of us have phones (even if we choose not to admit it) is for emergency use, or in other words, to contact or be contacted by people in times of need. As fun as those little life absorbing games are, they aren’t the reason you got a phone. I get in big trouble when I forget to charge it or lose it, so purposely leaving it behind is not an option. Besides, I’m sure being the generation we are, not many of us would even consider leaving our phones behind.

Without using a purse, I’m left with one option: just shove everything into my pockets. As I mentioned earlier, I can’t fit my cell phone into my back pocket and have it stay there without it falling out everytime I shift my weight or sit down. Considering I’m a very small person, I will naturally have small pockets on my jeans. I wear a size 12 reg. in girl’s jeans, and the phone in question is my Nokia Lumia 520. I’ve checked, and I can fit my phone comfortably in my mom’s jean back pockets, but she wears a size quite larger than mine. If I somehow begin to fit in actual adult jeans and refrain from getting a bigger phone, my phone problem will be solved. But, that’s only if I manage to grow more. In addition, with the increasing size of phones, it’s getting harder and harder to simply put them in our pockets.

For quite a few people, the size of pockets has become an increasing problem. Not only is it difficult, sometimes it’s completely impossible to put anything in them at all. What’s even worse is when half of the pockets on my pants don’t even function properly. I’ve always thought it unfair that people wearing feminine clothing are restricted in what they can do, and this isn’t only limited to pocket size. Have you ever tried to run around and jump on things in a dress? I just want to be able to get out and run around like my guy friends can without being limited by what I wear. So, there’s my little slice of part of my gender equality beliefs. What do you think?

Who's Behind The Blog
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

© 2023 by "This Just In". Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page